Going Home

Today is going to be an amazing day, I can tell already even though it’s only 8:30am.  Today we are bringing our baby girl home from the hospital, again.  On our first night at Children’s Hospital exactly 4 weeks ago, we weren’t sure we’d ever get to see today.   So hard to believe all that has happened in the past month.  I still look at Addison and shake my head thinking “WOW, you have a new heart.”

The nurses, psychologist, doctors and staff here tell us to be prepared for everything to come crashing down when we settle in at home.  It is pretty much Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, same thing soldiers experience when coming home from combat.  I can see that.  I don’t know that we’ve really had time to digest and process all that Addison has gone through this past month.

She is already growing and changing so quickly.  This past week, our little girl has started smiling!  Amazing to see her beautiful face break out into a gummy grin.

I have really ‘grown up’ too.  You think at the age of 36, I’d have it pretty much all figured out.  At least I thought I did.  Well I really had no idea.  I have been surprised at how much emotional trauma humans can endure, and still continue on.  I am amazed at how much love you can have for a child you barely know.

I have also been absolutely blown away by the strength and support from my family.  My parents, Addison’s lao-lao and gong-gong (Mandarin for grandma and grandpa), have been at the hospital every single day without fail.   Between them, my two sisters and their families, and my best friend Julie (who is like family), Aaron and I have not had to think about what to eat.  Every single day, the fridge has been fully stocked.  Julie even made up a food schedule spreadsheet!

On top of all that, our little girl, who is 7 weeks old tomorrow, has quite the circle of admirers – from prayer groups across North America, to nuns, yoga circles, everyone at Global BC, old and new friends, plus all their friends and families.

There is that saying, “It takes a village to raise a child.”  Addison is so lucky because she has more than just a village…she has an entire global community of support and love as she heads home to start living.

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

 

6 thoughts on “Going Home

  1. Enjoy your time together at home.Although full of new adjustments (the meds alone are something else-we know!), you’ll find your groove in time, and accept the love and support that finds itself at your doorsteps (they all want to help and bring their love with them). You guys are in this for the distance- pace yourselves. Grace has Addison on speed dial for prayers. Take Care
    Melissa

  2. Baby Addison, you have come such a long way and have endured so much. Your mama and daddy may hesitate to say the ‘m’ word but I won’t. You are a miracle, sweet baby girl! We are all pulling for you and you are in our prayers and thoughts, always. Bless you sweet angel and keep fighting the good fight!
    Aaron and Elaine, this is gonna get rough. No doubt. But like you said, you have a village to lean on. Take care of yourselves and each other.

  3. Congrats Elaine, Aaron and Addison! All of you are so inspiring, keep up the updates!
    BTW, that pram is wicked awesome. My mom used to parade me around in one of those things when I was a kid. That’s retro awesome!

  4. Dear Elaine, Aaron and Addison,
    First CONGRATS on becoming parents and welcome to the adventure. You both will be awesome parents. Truth be told I hadn’t seen you on Global for awhile and wondered if you weren’t on paternity leave. Seems my hunches were right. I’ve only just heard about Addison’s heart transplant and want you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. Praying that God will heal her completely. Wow! What a journey! So very thankful that you were able to bring Addison home today!
    Thinking of you,
    Liz (Healthy Lifestyle Challenge)

Leave a Reply

