Nice day for a white wedding

On the other side of the world, my entire family is waking up for the last Yong girl’s wedding day.  My younger sister Sonya is getting married in Bali today at 4:30pm, June 28 in Indonesian time.  We were supposed to be there…until Addison turned all our plans upside down.  And though I would give up anything to keep my baby girl healthy and strong, I can’t help but feel a bit sad to be missing out on Sonya’s wedding.

This is also the first time since Addison got sick that there hasn’t been a Yong hanging around, dropping off food, offering to help around the house.  When my older sister Melodie left for Bali Wednesday night, she was the last one to go.  My parents left a week and a half ago, and my youngest sister has been gone since June 8 – she went to Italy first where we were supposed to meet her at a stone farmhouse in Tuscany.  I really notice their absence. And as Sonya’s wedding day gets closer, I miss them all even more.  It makes me really appreciate all they have been doing to help out.  Having a newborn is overwhelming enough, let alone dealing with all that Addison has gone through.

When Auntie Sonya met Addison for the first time, over the Easter break, we went shopping for a cute outfit to wear to the wedding.  So a few days ago, Addison put on her frilly lavender sundress and we had a photo shoot to celebrate her Auntie’s wedding.  It’s not quite the same as the beautiful beach in Bali, but that’s ok.  We are there in spirit and in our hearts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations Auntie Son-Son and Uncle Ben!!!

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

 

3 thoughts on “Nice day for a white wedding

  1. I know that your family is thinking of all of you at home. Addison is so beautiful in her pretty little dress. She is the best Bithday, Wedding , Easter gift any family could have. Can you see them on skype, That is how I saw Andrea on her wedding day. Not the same as being there, but they will feel your love.
    Love and Prayers for Addison’s amazing progress.
    Lillian

Leave a Reply

