Back to reality

Dinner on the deck

While there is no place like home, leaving Pender Island yesterday morning was a little sad, especially because it feels like fall arrived while we were on our little family holiday. Addison seemed to enjoy having both Mommy and Daddy around to provide entertainment, though the napping thing kind of went haywire while on ‘island time’ so we did experience a few more princess pouty temper tantrums than the norm. And I really enjoyed having Aaron around full-time. Lao-lao and Gong-gong also came to Pender for a couple of nights, so Addison didn’t have to go a whole week without some grandparent love.

I did have a few moments of inner angst just knowing we were not a 15-minute drive away from Children’s Hospital. Yes, there is a little medical clinic on Pender with two doctors, but I am pretty sure babies with heart transplants are not part of their regular practice. When Addison was having her cranky moments, I admit I had several paranoid thoughts – could it be a reaction to medication? could it be something going on with her heart? is she having digestion problems because of the meds? No blood tests for an entire two weeks so I don’t even know what her Tacrolimus levels are up to right now. And no baby scale around to see if she was actually eating enough. It is tough to truly relax and let all my anxieties go…but oh so much easier sitting on a lounge chair with a hot cup of tea and a lovely oceanfront view of the sun setting over the Gulf Islands.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

 

3 thoughts on “Back to reality

  1. Looks like a really lovely get-away!!!!!!!!!! It looks like she had lots of quality daddy-time! 🙂 🙂 🙂 That is awesome! Glad that Lao Lao and Gong Gong could join as well! 🙂

  2. Hi Elaine, my name is Hege and I used to work at Global News too. We have a son that will be six in November who lives with just half a functioning heart, one good lung, is partly tube fed etc, and that has been through 14 surgeries. After seeing your story on TV, and also knowing the other women in the two other stories, I find myself keep reading your blog. I think many people will, after you all touched our hearts with your unique story. Dr. Phang is our son’s pediatrician too, and he told me Addison is a true miracle. Yesterday I talked to my friend Sandy (also a heart mom), who tells me she knows your sister and said to you to get Dr. Phang. I once recommended him to her. Such a small world. CHN runs several Heart Mama Coffee Support Groups, so contact me if you would like more info. Aaron has my email.

    When reading your blog above I can feel your anxiety and worries. I still have them after six years, but don’t worry the same way anymore. It becomes a new normal and somehow you just have to move on and so we do. I guess you have started that journey already. Life really changes when you have a child with special needs, more so than with “just” a newborn healthy baby. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your holiday. I wish you guys all the best, and maybe we will meet at one of the Children’s Heart Network’s function in the future.

    I also write a blog, to keep my family in Europe updated. It’s a nice way to share and save the memories, both good and bad.

    Take care!
    Love, Hege

  3. The grandparent shots are nothing less than DIVINE. Wow. And I am soooo looking up Pender Island for a place to visit whenever I move back West. So my kind of place! Gorgeous. Elaine, I’m curious. What do you and Aaron do to keep your worries “at bay?” Do you have time for yourself – to do yoga or anything like that? You don’t have to share if you don’t want, I just wonder so much where your extraordinary strength comes from. I fall apart with every little thing.

Leave a Reply

