Post-vacation conversations with my 2-year old

yong-6069Every time we go away, it seems as if Addison’s development progresses by leaps and bounds. She always picks up new skills and tricks. This time, after our week in Mexico, the Princess is even chattier than before. When we were at the airport waiting for our flight back to Vancouver, I asked her, “Did you have fun in Mexico?”. There was an enthusiastic “Yeah!!” I asked if she wanted to come back. An even louder “Yeah!!”. Then I asked, “When do you want to come back to Mexico?” She looked at me, thought about it for a moment, then very decisively uttered, “7:30”. Aaaaahhhh…if only life worked just the way it does in a toddler brain!

One of the highlights of this trip was the family photo session. To commemorate my dad’s 70th birthday year, we hired a photographer to come to our beach house and take pictures. I admit I am a total photo junkie, but I don’t think you can ever have too many. Unfortunately, one of my sisters and her family was not able to come on this trip so it isn’t the complete Yong family, but we got some fabulous keepsakes of our holiday. Addison still talks about it, laughing as she names each of her cousins, aunties, uncles, Lao Lao and Gong Gong and says we all jumped in the pool, with our clothes on. (For the record, Lao Lao and Gong Gong refused to take part in the “trash the white outfit” part of the photo session. The rest of us had a ball.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is back to reality, which isn’t too tough when we get to enjoy the summer on the beautiful West Coast. I think there will be a lot more trips to the beach…Addison is addicted after Australia, Phuket and Puerto Vallarta. Thankfully we get a short break from medical stuff until another biopsy on July 23.

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

5 thoughts on “Post-vacation conversations with my 2-year old

  1. What fabulous photos and memories for all of you…. some of the kid’s photos are priceless…. ❤ to the McYong clan… and nice to see you having so much fun. Enjoy our " Mexican " heat wave. 🙂

  2. Those are GREAT pictures that hold some pretty special memories, no doubt. My favourites are the ones of the cousins together – Precious!
    Addison is getting so big!
    LIz

  3. Wow – I must say as an amateur photographer myself…… these pictures are fabulous. I am surprised they turned out so well considering it seems to be mid-day and very sunny. The photographer did an amazing job. I love the picture Elaine of you and your parents and siblings. Beautiful

Leave a Reply

