Separation Anxiety? Who will be worse…the Princess or Momma?

Addison August 2013 13 at 16-42-42

When I tucked Addison in to bed tonight, it was my last few moments of cuddle time with her for five whole days. FIVE DAYS! Up until now, the longest I have been away from the Princess since she was born is 24 hours. There have been a few occasions where I have been gone all day but for the most part, there has been a little bit of Addison in my life every single day.

I am heading up to Haida Gwaii for a work assignment early tomorrow morning and I won’t be back until Sunday at dinner time. It’s a place that has been on my bucket list for a long time so I jumped at the chance to go, but it’s not as footloose and fancy-free as it used to be in my pre-Addison days. Aaron is on Daddy duty for the rest of the week, with the help of Lao Lao and Gong Gong and our awesome part-time nanny Daisy. But still, he will bear the brunt of the responsibility for our sometimes persnickety daughter. I have explained to Addison what’s happening. I am sure she understands because tonight she said, “Momma going away for work.” But I’m not sure how she will react. Even the few times my parents or Daisy have put her to bed, there has been an aborted or non-existent bath time because she has a complete meltdown. Almost every single night, I do the bedtime routine because Aaron works nights.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I haven’t shed any tears…yet. But I know I’m going to really miss seeing that big cheeky grin to start and end my day.

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

P.S. Here is my favourite Addison-ism at the moment: “When I grow up I want to be a monkey…a doctor monkey.”

3 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety? Who will be worse…the Princess or Momma?

  1. Good for you for taking this opportunity to go somewhere you have always wanted to go. I’m sure Addison will miss you, and you will miss her, but there will be lots of cuddles waiting fir you in Sunday evening!!!! Enjoy your work assignment and little “break” from the family…!!! Do what YOU want to do during your off-time…!!! Imagine that-ELAINE-TIME!!! 🙂

  2. Enjoy your ‘me time’ Elaine! & not to worry…. being concerned & missing one’s kids is one of the best parts of being a mom. 30 some years later I still feel a little ‘separation angst’ when I ‘take off’ from them all only now it’s compounded with having to leave a grandson too! But we all need the time away to recharge (even if it is for work) & for them to ‘miss us’! LOL! Have a great trip. Look forward to seeing/hearing your report on the news!

  3. On behalf of the health care team in Queen Charlotte, a big haa’wa to you and Tony for coming up our way to show viewers our slice of heaven. Enjoy the potlatch and the rest of your time on Haida Gwaii. Look us up if you come back.

    And Addison is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

