Back from our adventures at Grandma and Grandpa’s house

Grand Forks 2013-09-02 at 09-14-42

We survived our first long road-trip with the Princess! I had calculated the six-hour drive to and from Grandma and Grandpa’s house in Grand Forks would take us a little longer. I wasn’t quite prepared for the nine-hour endurance test of my patience. As Aaron will attest, I am rather impatient at the best of times. Becoming a mom has definitely mellowed me out and taught me tolerance, however, nine hours driving home with a cranky toddler demanding, “MORE DORA! I WANT MORE DORA!” was a little trying. We were just trying to limit the iPad watching a little bit. Four hours of Dora is already double the “recommended” TV watching time??!

However, Addison had a great time out of the car. She thoroughly enjoyed drawing chalk pictures on the sidewalk with Grandma and riding her bike with Grandpa. We had some good beach time at Christina Lake and at the riverside beach in front of Grandma and Grandpa’s house. Most importantly, Grandma Mollie’s memorial service was lovely…at least the ten minutes I got to stay in the church.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Most of the time I was running around after Addison on the church lawn. I had company though – Addison’s cousins also had the squirmies. It was great to meet so many family friends who have known the McArthurs for decades, and we reconnected with family we haven’t seen in years. It was the first time the Princess has met most of the McArthur clan.

Though I didn’t get to listen to the service, it’s clear Grandma Mollie had an amazing life. As Addison would say, Little Grandma certainly had many adventures!

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

3 thoughts on “Back from our adventures at Grandma and Grandpa’s house

  1. That’s a picture of Aaron as an older gent! Looks like Addison got along with her cousins, they must have adored her. That is one epic car journey, I don’t think those ‘recommended’ screen time limits apply to road trips! (or plane rides) however airplane headphones that fit little heads would be a great.

  2. Hi Elaine! I feel your anxiety over the loooong trip! My dad’s sis & bro live in Grand Forks & I’m planning a road trip with him (he’s 81) in October to see them…. I can only hope he will be 1/2 as well behaved as Addison was! lol!! He’s not into Dora though & I didn’t renew my subscription to SiriusFM so wondering if you have any suggestions for entertainment for me!! haha! Was interesting to find out you’re part of the famous Greenwood McArthur’s. Have seen that sign many times over the many many years of visiting to GF.

  3. Sounds like a great time with family and friends. Good you guys could be there for grandma mollie’s service. Nice that Addie could spend more time with grandma and grandpa!!

Leave a Reply

