If you still aren’t registered as an organ donor…here is why you need to do it.

Please do it right now. Stop and take five minutes to make your wishes known. Discuss organ donation with your family. Consider registering your children too. Death is not a subject we like to think about, but it is a fact of life. And the incredible lack of action from Canadians on this topic is mind-blowing. Why are our deceased donor rates amongst the lowest in the western world?

The sad reality is people who are in desperate need of an organ donation have died because there aren’t enough people registered. Doesn’t it just boggle the mind when you think about that? Those people – who had husbands and wives, children, parents, siblings – may have been able to go on living. Only if more of us were registered.

I’m sorry if I seem a little angry. It is with a heavy heart that I have to tell you another little baby at BC Children’s Hospital has died while waiting for a heart transplant. Baby Miles was listed just days after his birth. He never got to go home from the hospital. He had been waiting for more than four months. I know there is no point in talking about “what ifs” but I really don’t want any other family to have to go through this again. Right now, there are two other children in BC in need of a new heart. One has been waiting for almost five months.

I can’t help but think how incredibly lucky we are that we have Addison. The only reason she is here with us today is because of our donor Audrey and her mom Felicia. Felicia said YES. I only wish everyone would say YES.

Addison November 2013 23 13-04-04

Love,

Elaine, Aaron and Addison

PS Canadians can check HERE for organ donation information for each province.

2 thoughts on “If you still aren’t registered as an organ donor…here is why you need to do it.

  1. I have registered and am an avid advocate of organ donation.
    My thoughts and prayers are with baby Miles family. I have followed his life through their blog and am very saddened by this turn of events.

  2. Hello McYong Family,

    I first learned about your story from my mom who used to work with Elaine’s sister. My daughter was born the day before Addison and I was at our baby shower when she told me about her getting her new heart. I couldn’t even begin to imagine going through that. I have followed your blog ever since. There were days when I couldn’t get away from my young baby fast enough so her dad would take her outside and I would catch up with how Addison was doing. What a reality check that was. I would be reminded how grateful I was for her inconsolable crying because it meant she was in my life. Today I registered her to be an organ donor, and will register my newborn once her Care Card arrives. Thank you for sharing your story with us, and for continuing to do so. You *are* making a difference.

Leave a Reply

