So this is 40.

LL Photos 2014-09-04 65
Today marks the beginning of the rest of my life. I’m still not really sure how I feel about that, though in BC the average life expectancy for a woman is 84 so technically I’m still a couple of years away from the halfway point. But there is something really profound about turning 40. Hey, you know it’s a big deal when there’s a Hollywood movie commemorating the occasion.
I never wrote up a list of goals defined by age but I certainly wouldn’t have expected to be where I am today. I don’t mean career-wise, house-wise or money-wise. All of that actually seems a lot less important then I ever thought it could be. I am talking about my focus in life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I thought I was ambitious and determined before Addison, but now I see that I really had no idea what makes a fulfilled life. Yes, I think being a parent and watching your child learn, grow and thrive is life-altering, even if you never have to face a life and death situation. For me, going through what we’ve been through with Addison has helped me find my voice and my passion to do something that really matters. It has given me focus and more meaning. I feel empathy and sympathy like I never have before. I have made deep and profound connections with people I would have never met in my ‘before Addison’ life. I have lived so much more in the last three years then I have the 20 years prior to that.
So I should really think about my 40th birthday as a marker of all that still lies ahead, rather than the “you’re over the hill” Hallmark card. Addison has made a point to tell me I shouldn’t put 40 candles on my birthday cake because there won’t be any left over for her birthday cake. She says I should use just three or four candles. I like the way she thinks.
Here’s to 40!!
LL Photos 2014-09-04 56
Love,
Elaine, Aaron and Addison

9 thoughts on “So this is 40.

  1. Bravo Elaine – and happy birthday. You echo my experience after having Brynn. The broader perspective we get from our unique experience with the health care journey really does give such a rich perspective. As someone who has a few more years on you….it’s all good (at least most of it)!!! Enjoy the day!

  2. Happy 40th!! Enjoy today and every day! P.S. I absolutely LOVE the photo of you and Aaron kissing and Addison on top covering her eyes! Too cute … all you!!

  3. Wishing you a fantabulous 40th birthday, Elaine! Sending lots of love and hugs and thanks from the Lourenco Family. I also LOVE the photo of you and Aaron kissing with your precious cutie pie on top!

Leave a Reply

