Thankful. ❤ #lifeaftertransplant #thanksgiving

addison-charlie-2016-10-05-at-14-59-31

The turkey is stuffed and in the oven, Brussels sprouts waiting to get roasted and glazed, potatoes washed, Charlie and Addison are at the park with Aaron. It sounds like the perfect cozy Thanksgiving right? And in so many ways it is. But here’s the truth: there are bits of mushed baby crackers all over the floor, I haven’t showered yet, the couch cushions are tossed all over the living room…AGAIN, and I am pretty sure I just stepped into some mushy stuffing that fell on to the ground. There are many moments throughout the day when I am frustrated, annoyed, impatient and exasperated with my life as a mother of two. Sometimes I don’t stop and appreciate all the little moments, sometimes I want to run outside and scream, sometimes I forget we are so fortunate to have a chance at life with Addison. Plus there is more laundry to be done.

 

And then I remember. I remember all that I have and I am so incredibly thankful. Thank you to our donor Audrey and her mom Felicia, thank you to my amazing husband and father of my children (who puts up with my crankiness most of the time), thank you to my wonderful family for always having my back, thank you to my BFF who totally gets me, thank you to my friends and colleagues who have supported us through the years, thank you to Addison’s transplant team and all the caregivers at BC Children’s Hospital, thank you to everyone in our huge circle. I could go on and on.

But most of all thank you to my two girls. You drive me nuts, but mostly you bring so much joy and happiness. My heart is full. Thank you for letting me be your mom. ❤

addison-charlie-2016-10-05-at-14-57-45

Happy Thanksgiving!
Love,
Elaine, Aaron, Addison and Charlie

3 thoughts on “Thankful. ❤ #lifeaftertransplant #thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to the McYong Clan ! Someday the mushy crackers mashed into the floor and carpet and the messy house will be a distant memory … but the memories you make with your precious girls will never fade … enjoy them as they grow so fast and life races forward … especially as we get older … take it from someone who knows … at 62 it feels like life has been put on fast forward looking at my ‘ kids ‘ who are almost 24 and 26 … VIVA la vida ❤

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!!! Yes, we have so much to be thankful for… Your girls are so lucky to have you and Aaron as parents. I cannot believe how big Charlie is getting!!!!! Super cute munchkins! XO

Leave a Reply

