Awkward convos with other parents (when you have an immune-compromised school kid) #vaccineswork #transplantlife #lifeaftertransplant

addison-charlie-2016-10-22-at-12-11-19We are now 10 weeks into school and Addison is loving it. I am too. (Six hours of the day with just one child…yahoo!) Except for the occasional freakout-temper-tantrum-screaming-jumping-up-and-down episodes I get at 3:01pm pickup. Yeah, five going on fifteen. It’s awesome. Apparently the Princess is never like that in the classroom, so I suppose I should be thankful for that.

Now while Addison has been learning all kinds of new things, as parents we are also navigating new territory. There are no mandatory vaccination rule for Vancouver public schools and if you’ve heard about the recent stats, you know just how dismal vaccination rates are at some schools. Thankfully our school isn’t too bad, though there is always room for improvement. But it makes me look at her classmates with a slightly cynical eye, especially if I hear a hacking cough or see a snotty nose – is that kid vaccinated??!!

Here’s the thing…I don’t want any playdates with kids who aren’t vaccinated. It’s just not a risk I’m willing to take at this point, plus I freely admit I am a judger who can’t fathom the warped logic that would lead a parent down the path of non-vaccination. To put it bluntly, I think they’re idiots. It makes me angry and frustrated. So we can’t be friends.

But there is a problem. I don’t know which kids are vaccinated and which are not. Unless I ask. And this is where the awkward conversation/email thing will have to come in. I am a person who speaks her mind (in case you haven’t noticed) so I am just going to flat out ask. I’m not sure how other parents will take that directness but my daughter’s health is more important than being politically/socially correct. I’ve already had one stumbling bumbling chat with a parent about the flu vaccine. He said he didn’t believe in “that stuff”, and was surprised when I told him my immune system didn’t feel “weak” after getting the shot.

Who knew being in Kindergarten would be such a potential social minefield?

addison-charlie-2016-10-22-at-12-19-32

Love,
Elaine, Aaron, Addison and Charlie

 

7 thoughts on “Awkward convos with other parents (when you have an immune-compromised school kid) #vaccineswork #transplantlife #lifeaftertransplant

  1. Maybe, hopefully, through some of these awkward conversations, you will convince others to vaccinate?! I wonder if her teacher would let Addison do a presentation to help raise awareness? Maybe try communicating through the kids? Beautiful fall photo
    Shoot!!! Xo

  2. We live in the US. In our state vaccines are mandatory unless (and that’s a big unless) your religion or values opposes them. One of the reasons my daughter chose the school she did, was that it had higher vaccine rates than some. My granddaughter goes to a small school and 3 of Indigo’s classmates in a class of 16 are family or close friends. That makes it easier, but awkward conversations will come up.

Leave a Reply

